North Carolina ›Chapel Hill

The Cedars of Chapel Hill

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

101 Green Cedar Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517 (opens Google Maps) · Durham County · (919) 259-7903· 12 certified beds · avg 10 residents/day · certified since Apr 29, 2005 · Medicare only — not Medicaid certified

Certified for Medicare only. Medicare pays for short rehabilitation stays, not for long-term care — and this facility cannot bill Medicaid, which is what most families rely on for a long stay. Ask what a long-term stay here would cost and how it would be paid for. Who pays for nursing home care →

Part of chain: LIFE CARE SERVICES (43 facilities, chain avg rating 4.1★)

5/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Apr 30, 2025
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★★★5/5 · CMS overall rating: 4/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

3 inspection findings in the public record

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Jun 4, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not honor residents' rights to request, refuse, or stop treatment, to decline participation in medical research, or to make an advance directive — a written statement of their wishes for future medical care. · F-0578
Jun 4, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not update each resident's care assessment at least once every 3 months. These regular check-ins keep the resident's care plan matched to their current condition. · F-0638
Jun 4, 2024B · Potential for minimal harm, patternThe facility did not enter each resident's assessment information into the required format and send it to the state within 7 days of completing the assessment, as the rules require. · F-0640

Inspection trend by year

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2024
All citations: 3
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202430D

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityNorth Carolina averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
North Carolina average: 4.01
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
North Carolina average: 0.64
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
North Carolina average: 3.56
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityNorth Carolina avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—4.013.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.640.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.563.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.410.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)—49.045.8—
RN turnover (%)—45.742.9—

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: —/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 1/5 · long-stay residents: —/5 · short-stay residents: 1/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for The Cedars of Chapel Hill. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Non profit - Other

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Aycock, PerryIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2024
Black, FrederickIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE02/20/2002
Flynn, SaraIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2009
Life Care Services LLCOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE02/04/2004
Life Care Services LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/10/2025
Locklear, GavinIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE09/22/2021
Locklear, GavinIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/11/2025
McBride, JackIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE05/01/2013
McBride, JackIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/11/2025
Peery McLaughlin, MargaretIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/11/2002
Sanders, LindaIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2024
The Cedars of Chapel Hill LLCOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE09/10/1999
The Cedars of Chapel Hill LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/11/2025
Van Sant, JerryIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2024

All 14 owning or managing parties CMS has on file are shown — none excluded.

Other facilities in the same chain

CMS lists this facility under the chain Life Care Services — 43 facilities in the current records. Chain membership says who operates these homes. It says nothing about how any individual one of them was inspected; each has its own record.

Listed by state, then facility name — not a ranking. Showing 8 of the 42 others, continuing from this facility's own place in that list.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "How do you record and honor each resident's treatment wishes and advance directives, and how do staff know about them?"
  • "How do you track that every resident's quarterly assessment happens on time?"
  • "How do you make sure resident assessments are completed and submitted to the state on time?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "The ownership record on file lists 14 owning or managing parties — who makes the decisions about staffing levels?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (12 closest of 24 within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Signature Healthcare of Chapel Hill2.1 miChapel Hill, NC★★★☆☆3/5
Parkview Health and Rehabilitation Center2.3 miChapel Hill, NC★★★★★5/5
Carol Woods4.2 miChapel Hill, NC★★★★★4/5
Southpoint Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center4.3 miDurham, NC★☆☆☆☆1/5abuse
The Forest at Duke INC5.6 miDurham, NC★★★★☆5/5
Pruitthealth-Carolina Point5.7 miDurham, NC★☆☆☆☆2/5
Pruitthealth-Durham7.3 miDurham, NC★☆☆☆☆1/5
University Health and Rehabilitation Center8.0 miDurham, NC★☆☆☆☆1/5
Pettigrew Rehabilitation Center8.3 miDurham, NC★★★★☆3/5
Hillcrest Convalescent Center8.3 miDurham, NC★★★★★5/5
The Arbor9.4 miPittsboro, NC★★★★★5/5
Croasdaile Village9.8 miDurham, NC★★★★☆4/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in Durham, NC — 13 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in Chapel Hill →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 345533.

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details