Iowa ›Des Moines

Iowa Jewish Senior Life Center

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

900 Polk Boulevard, Des Moines, IA 50312 (opens Google Maps) · Polk County · (515) 255-5433· 46 certified beds · avg 39 residents/day · certified since Jan 1, 1967 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

3/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Apr 2, 2026
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★☆☆3/5 · CMS overall rating: 2/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 13 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. F-0812

  2. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. F-0880

  3. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not honor residents' rights to request, refuse, or stop treatment, to decline participation in medical research, or to make an advance directive — a written statement of their wishes for future medical care. F-0578

View all 13 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Apr 2, 2026E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Apr 2, 2026E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
Apr 2, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not honor residents' rights to request, refuse, or stop treatment, to decline participation in medical research, or to make an advance directive — a written statement of their wishes for future medical care. · F-0578
Apr 2, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not reassess a resident after a significant change in their condition, such as a sudden decline in health. A full new assessment is required when a resident's condition changes in a major way. · F-0637
Apr 2, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not coordinate resident assessments with the state's pre-admission screening program for mental illness and intellectual disabilities, or failed to refer residents for the special services they need. · F-0644
Mar 13, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Mar 13, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not develop or follow a complete care plan for each resident — the written roadmap covering all of a resident's needs, with measurable goals and timelines. · F-0656
Mar 13, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide treatment and care that follows the doctor's orders and matches the resident's own preferences and goals. · F-0684
Mar 13, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
Mar 13, 2025B · Potential for minimal harm, patternThe facility did not give residents (and their representatives and the ombudsman, a state advocate for residents) proper advance notice before a transfer or discharge, including information about their right to appeal. · F-0623
Apr 18, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility provided care that did not meet professional standards of quality — the accepted standards that nurses and other clinicians are expected to follow. · from a complaint · F-0658
Apr 18, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep residents free from significant medication errors — such as giving the wrong drug, the wrong dose, or missing a critical medication. · from a complaint · F-0760
Apr 18, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880

Inspection trend by year

Citations from standard inspections stayed about the same across the last two inspection cycles (5 → 5).

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2024
All citations: 3
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2025
All citations: 5
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2026
All citations: 5
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202430D
202550E
202650E

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityIowa averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
Iowa average: 4.37
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
Iowa average: 0.85
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
Iowa average: 3.86
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityIowa avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—4.373.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.850.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.863.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.510.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)52.944.045.8bottom 26% in Iowa; bottom 30% in the U.S.
RN turnover (%)57.142.142.9bottom 30% in Iowa; bottom 26% in the U.S.

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: 1/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 3/5 · long-stay residents: 3/5 · short-stay residents: 4/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Iowa Jewish Senior Life Center. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Non profit - Corporation

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Bernstein, GloriaIndividualManaging Control - Governing BodyNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Bernstein, GloriaIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Meyer, AngelaIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE05/01/2022
Meyer, AngelaIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE05/01/2022
Meyer, AngelaIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE02/26/2025
Mock, BeataIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE11/18/2014
Oxley, PollyIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2020
Rabang, LazaroIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2022
Rabang, LazaroIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2022

All 9 owning or managing parties CMS has on file are shown — none excluded.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "What did your most recent kitchen inspection find, and can I see how food is stored and prepared?"
  • "Who leads your infection prevention program, and how do you make sure staff follow practices like hand hygiene every day?"
  • "How do you record and honor each resident's treatment wishes and advance directives, and how do staff know about them?"
  • "If my family member's health suddenly changes, how quickly do you reassess them and update their care?"
  • "How do you identify and arrange specialized services for residents with mental health conditions or disabilities?"
  • "Can you show me an example care plan, and how are families included when it's created and updated?"
  • "How do you make sure each resident's care follows the doctor's orders, and what changed after this citation?"
  • "If you ever planned to discharge or transfer my family member, how much written notice would we receive and how could we appeal?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "CMS reports 53% total nursing staff turnover here — who on the care team has been with you longest?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (12 closest of 41 within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Wesley on Grand1.1 miDes Moines, IA★★★★★5/5
Scottish Rite Park INC1.4 miDes Moines, IA★★★★★3/5
Calvin Community1.5 miDes Moines, IA★★★★☆3/5
Ramsey Village1.8 miDes Moines, IA★★☆☆☆2/5
Pine Acres Rehabilitation and Care Center2.1 miWest Des Moines, IA—/5abuseSFF
Karen Acres Care Center3.2 miUrbandale, IA★★★★★4/5
University Park Nursing and Rehabilitation Center3.2 miDes Moines, IA★★★★☆3/5
Rehabilitation Center of Des Moines3.8 miDes Moines, IA★★★☆☆2/5
Azria Health Park Place4.1 miDes Moines, IA★☆☆☆☆1/5SFF
Accura Healthcare of South Des Moines4.3 miDes Moines, IA★☆☆☆☆1/5
Royal Oaks Nursing and Rehabilitation Center4.4 miUrbandale, IA★☆☆☆☆1/5SFF
Walnut Ridge4.8 miClive, IA★★★★★4/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in Polk, IA — 30 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in Des Moines →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 165006.

This page is the printable visit checklist. If your browser did not open the print dialog automatically, use File → Print (Ctrl/⌘-P).

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details