Ohio ›New Philadelphia

Amberwood Manor

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

245 South Broadway, New Philadelphia, OH 44663 (opens Google Maps) · Tuscarawas County · (330) 339-2151· 48 certified beds · avg 36 residents/day · certified since Dec 31, 2002 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

Part of chain: SABER HEALTHCARE GROUP (126 facilities, chain avg rating 2.9★)

3/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Jan 23, 2025
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★☆☆3/5 · CMS overall rating: 3/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 25 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility did not provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment, including safe support for residents' daily living needs. · from a complaint F-0584

  2. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not honor residents' right to manage their own money and financial affairs. F-0567

  3. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not provide treatment and care that follows the doctor's orders and matches the resident's own preferences and goals. F-0684

View all 25 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Jan 23, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment, including safe support for residents' daily living needs. · from a complaint · F-0584
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not honor residents' right to manage their own money and financial affairs. · F-0567
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide treatment and care that follows the doctor's orders and matches the resident's own preferences and goals. · F-0684
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide proper care for pressure ulcers (bedsores) or did not do enough to prevent new ones from forming. Bedsores develop when residents stay in one position too long without help moving. · F-0686
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep the environment free of accident hazards, or did not provide enough supervision to prevent accidents like falls. · F-0689
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide enough food and fluids to keep residents healthy, such as preventing unplanned weight loss or dehydration. · F-0692
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. · F-0756
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not try to gradually reduce doses of mood- and mind-altering medications or use non-drug approaches first, as required, or used 'as needed' psychiatric drugs without proper limits. · F-0758
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not label drugs according to professional standards or did not store them in locked compartments, with controlled drugs (medications with a high risk of misuse) kept under a separate lock. · F-0761
Jan 23, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
Dec 20, 2024E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not protect residents from misuse of their belongings or money — this is called misappropriation, and it includes theft or improper use of a resident's property or funds. · from a complaint · F-0602
Aug 3, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not protect residents from misuse of their belongings or money — this is called misappropriation, and it includes theft or improper use of a resident's property or funds. · from a complaint · F-0602
Aug 3, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep the environment free of accident hazards, or did not provide enough supervision to prevent accidents like falls. · from a complaint · F-0689
Aug 3, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide pharmacy services that meet each resident's needs, or did not employ or contract with a licensed pharmacist. · from a complaint · F-0755
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not give residents proper notice about what Medicare or Medicaid covers, or about charges the resident might owe for services that aren't covered. · F-0582
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not develop a resident's complete plan of care within 7 days of the full assessment, or the plan wasn't prepared, reviewed, and updated by a team of health professionals as required. · F-0657
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide treatment and care that follows the doctor's orders and matches the resident's own preferences and goals. · F-0684
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide the care needed to maintain or improve residents' movement and flexibility — such as range-of-motion exercises — leading to avoidable decline. · F-0688
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep residents' medications free from unnecessary drugs. Residents should only take medicines they truly need, at the right dose, for a clear reason. · F-0757
Jan 19, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide or obtain laboratory tests when a doctor ordered them, or did not promptly report the results back to the doctor who ordered them. · F-0773
May 7, 2021D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide proper care for pressure ulcers (bedsores) or did not do enough to prevent new ones from forming. Bedsores develop when residents stay in one position too long without help moving. · F-0686
May 7, 2021D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. · F-0756
May 7, 2021D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep residents' medications free from unnecessary drugs. Residents should only take medicines they truly need, at the right dose, for a clear reason. · F-0757
May 7, 2021D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not try to gradually reduce doses of mood- and mind-altering medications or use non-drug approaches first, as required, or used 'as needed' psychiatric drugs without proper limits. · F-0758
May 7, 2021D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility's menus did not meet residents' nutritional needs, or were not prepared in advance, followed as written, kept up to date, or reviewed by a dietician. · F-0803

Inspection trend by year

Citations from standard inspections increased between the last two inspection cycles (6 → 10).

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2021
All citations: 5
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2023
All citations: 9
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2024
All citations: 1
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2025
All citations: 10
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202150D
202390D
202410E
2025100E

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityOhio averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
Ohio average: 3.45
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
Ohio average: 0.60
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
Ohio average: 3.07
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityOhio avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—3.453.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.600.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.073.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.420.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)44.848.745.8top 40% in Ohio; top 50% in the U.S.
RN turnover (%)50.043.942.9bottom 43% in Ohio; bottom 39% in the U.S.

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: 1/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 5/5 · long-stay residents: 5/5 · short-stay residents: —/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Amberwood Manor. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

For profit - Limited Liability company

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Amberwood Re Group, LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE06/01/2018
Citrin Cooperman Advisors LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE11/01/2002
Hohlefelder, JasonIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE06/02/2024
Hohlefelder, JasonIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE06/02/2024
Jones, RichardIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/01/2019
Nicoluzakis, GregoryIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2019
Nicoluzakis, GregoryIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2019
Saber Governance LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE09/01/2019
SHG Management LLCOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE09/01/2019
SHG Management LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE09/01/2019
Volpe, BenjaminIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2019
Volpe, BenjaminIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2019
Volpe, BenjaminIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2019
Weber, KelliIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2021
Weber, KelliIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2021
Weisberg, WilliamIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE11/01/2002
Weisberg, WilliamIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE11/01/2002

All 17 owning or managing parties CMS has on file are shown — none excluded.

Other facilities in the same chain

CMS lists this facility under the chain Saber Healthcare Group — 126 facilities in the current records. Chain membership says who operates these homes. It says nothing about how any individual one of them was inspected; each has its own record.

Listed by state, then facility name — not a ranking. Showing 8 of the 125 others, continuing from this facility's own place in that list.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "Can we tour the resident rooms, bathrooms, and common areas today, including areas not on the usual tour route?"
  • "How are residents' personal funds handled here, and what records can families review?"
  • "How do you make sure each resident's care follows the doctor's orders, and what changed after this citation?"
  • "How do you prevent bedsores for residents who can't move themselves, and how often are at-risk residents repositioned?"
  • "What is your falls rate, and what specific steps do you take to prevent falls and supervise residents at risk?"
  • "How do you monitor residents' weight and eating, and what happens when someone starts losing weight?"
  • "Does a pharmacist review every resident's medications and chart monthly, and how are their concerns acted on?"
  • "What is your approach to psychiatric medications — how do you try non-drug options first and work to reduce doses over time?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "CMS reports 45% total nursing staff turnover here — who on the care team has been with you longest?"
  • "The ownership record on file lists 17 owning or managing parties — who makes the decisions about staffing levels?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (12 closest of 18 within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Park Village HC NP LLC1.7 miNew Philadelphia, OH★★★★★5/5
Country Club Center I1.9 miDover, OH★★☆☆☆1/5abuseSFF
New Dawn Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center1.9 miDover, OH★☆☆☆☆1/5
Schoenbrunn Healthcare3.0 miNew Philadelphia, OH★★☆☆☆1/5
Park Village Health Care Center INC4.0 miDover, OH★★★★☆3/5
Hennis Care Centre of Dover4.1 miDover, OH★★★★☆3/5
Claymont Health and Rehabilitation7.6 miUhrichsville, OH★★★★☆4/5
Hennis Care Centre of Bolivar11.5 miBolivar, OH★★★★★4/5
Bowerston Hills Nursing & Rehabilitation13.1 miBowerston, OH★★★★★5/5
Oak Pointe Nursing & Rehabilitation13.7 miBaltic, OH★★★★★5/5
Sunnyslope Nursing Home13.8 miBowerston, OH★★★★★4/5
Walnut Hills Nursing Home14.8 miWalnut Creek, OH★★★★☆3/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in Tuscarawas, OH — 10 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in New Philadelphia →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 366253.

This page is the printable visit checklist. If your browser did not open the print dialog automatically, use File → Print (Ctrl/⌘-P).

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details