California ›Atascadero

Coastal Oaks Special Care Center

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

10805 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422 (opens Google Maps) · San Luis Obispo County · (805) 466-9254· 65 certified beds · avg 6 residents/day · certified since Mar 17, 1993 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

Part of chain: COMPASS HEALTH, INC. (7 facilities, chain avg rating 5.0★)

5/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Jun 4, 2025
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★★★5/5 · CMS overall rating: 5/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 9 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not label drugs according to professional standards or did not store them in locked compartments, with controlled drugs (medications with a high risk of misuse) kept under a separate lock. F-0761

  2. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility's menus did not meet residents' nutritional needs, or were not prepared in advance, followed as written, kept up to date, or reviewed by a dietician. F-0803

  3. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not protect residents' personal information or did not keep complete, accurate medical records that meet professional standards. F-0842

View all 9 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Jun 4, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not label drugs according to professional standards or did not store them in locked compartments, with controlled drugs (medications with a high risk of misuse) kept under a separate lock. · F-0761
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility's menus did not meet residents' nutritional needs, or were not prepared in advance, followed as written, kept up to date, or reviewed by a dietician. · F-0803
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not protect residents' personal information or did not keep complete, accurate medical records that meet professional standards. · F-0842
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide a neutral and fair arbitration process. Arbitration is a way of settling disputes outside of court, and if it's used, the facility must agree with the resident on a neutral arbitrator and a convenient location. · F-0848
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep all essential equipment working safely — things like heating and cooling systems, kitchen equipment, and medical devices. · F-0908
Jun 9, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility's medication error rate was 5 percent or higher — meaning too many doses were given incorrectly, such as the wrong drug, dose, or time. · F-0759
Jun 9, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not label drugs according to professional standards or did not store them in locked compartments, with controlled drugs (medications with a high risk of misuse) kept under a separate lock. · F-0761
Jun 9, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not employ enough qualified food and nutrition staff, including a qualified dietician, to properly run its food service. · F-0801
Jun 9, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility's menus did not meet residents' nutritional needs, or were not prepared in advance, followed as written, kept up to date, or reviewed by a dietician. · F-0803

Inspection trend by year

Citations from standard inspections decreased between the last two inspection cycles (4 → 1).

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2023
All citations: 4
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2024
All citations: 4
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2025
All citations: 1
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202340D
202440D
202510D

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityCalifornia averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
California average: 4.31
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
California average: 0.61
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
California average: 3.90
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityCalifornia avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—4.313.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.610.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.903.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.510.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)—36.745.8—
RN turnover (%)—38.142.9—

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: —/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 5/5 · long-stay residents: 5/5 · short-stay residents: 5/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Coastal Oaks Special Care Center. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

For profit - Limited Liability company

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Compass Health INCOrganizationDirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE11/05/2007
Compass Holdings INCOrganizationDirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2008
Gerrish, NancyIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2005
Gerrish, WilliamIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2005
Hamilton, AmyIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021
Hodge, TimothyIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2024
McMullen, JuanitaIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE07/07/1997
Moya, MarieIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE07/22/2010
Smith, DarrenIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE09/26/2008
Woolpert, MarcyIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021
Woolpert, MarkIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE07/07/1979
Woolpert, PatriciaIndividualIndirect Ownership InterestNOT APPLICABLE07/07/1997
Alexander, LaceyIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE04/09/2006
Alexander, LaceyIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE04/09/2006
Coastal LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021
Compass Health INCOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE11/19/2007
Compass Health INCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021
Compass Holdings INCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE01/01/2008
Gerrish, NancyIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021
Gerrish, WilliamIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE08/25/2021

Showing 20 of 45 parties CMS has on file for this facility; 25 are not displayed. The full list is in the CMS Ownership dataset.

Other facilities in the same chain

CMS lists this facility under the chain Compass Health, INC. — 7 facilities in the current records. Chain membership says who operates these homes. It says nothing about how any individual one of them was inspected; each has its own record.

Listed by state, then facility name — not a ranking.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "Can you show me how medications are stored and secured on the units, including controlled drugs?"
  • "Who reviews your menus, and can I see this week's menu and join my family member for a meal?"
  • "How do you keep residents' medical records accurate, complete, and secure?"
  • "Does your admission agreement include an arbitration clause, and is signing it optional?"
  • "How do you inspect and maintain essential equipment, and how quickly are repairs made?"
  • "What is your current medication error rate, and what have you changed to bring errors down?"
  • "Do you have a qualified dietician on staff, and how involved are they in each resident's nutrition plan?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "The ownership record on file lists 45 owning or managing parties — who makes the decisions about staffing levels?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Vineyard Hills Health Center8.1 miTempleton, CA★★★★★5/5
Bayside Care Center12.0 miMorro Bay, CA★★★★★5/5
San Luis Transitional Care12.6 miSan Luis Obispo, CA★★★★★5/5
San Luis Post Acute Center13.1 miSan Luis Obispo, CA★★★★★5/5
Mission View Health Center13.2 miSan Luis Obispo, CA★★★★★5/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in San Luis Obispo, CA — 7 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in Atascadero →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 555554.

This page is the printable visit checklist. If your browser did not open the print dialog automatically, use File → Print (Ctrl/⌘-P).

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details