Kentucky ›Owensboro

Carmel Home

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

2501 Old Hartford Road, Owensboro, KY 42303 (opens Google Maps) · Daviess County · (270) 683-0227· 18 certified beds · avg 17 residents/day · certified since Dec 13, 1990 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

2/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected May 7, 2026
0
Serious findings on record
$40,173
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★☆☆☆2/5 · CMS overall rating: 2/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 7 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread

    The facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. F-0756

  2. F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread

    The facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. F-0851

  3. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility gave residents unnecessary mind-altering (psychotropic) medications, or used drugs in a way that restrained residents by dulling their ability to think, move, or function. F-0605

View all 7 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
May 7, 2026F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. · F-0756
May 7, 2026F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. · F-0851
May 7, 2026E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility gave residents unnecessary mind-altering (psychotropic) medications, or used drugs in a way that restrained residents by dulling their ability to think, move, or function. · F-0605
May 7, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep the environment free of accident hazards, or did not provide enough supervision to prevent accidents like falls. · F-0689
Feb 15, 2024F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not have a registered nurse on duty at least 8 hours a day, or did not have a registered nurse serving full-time as director of nursing. · F-0727
Feb 15, 2024F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Feb 15, 2024C · Potential for minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not post its nurse staffing information every day. Nursing homes must publicly display how many nurses and aides are on duty each day. · F-0732

Inspection trend by year

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2024
All citations: 3
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2026
All citations: 4
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202430F
202640F

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

4 fines totaling $40,173, plus 1 Medicare payment denial period.

Every penalty CMS publishes for this facility in the 3-year window is listed —none excluded. The count and the dollar total come from two different CMS datasets and agree for this facility. Penalties older than the window are dropped by CMS before publication, not by us.

DateTypeAmount / length
Feb 20, 2024Fine$3,764
Feb 15, 2024Fine$25,119
Feb 15, 2024Payment Denial9 days from Apr 6, 2024
Feb 12, 2024Fine$3,387
Jan 22, 2024Fine$7,903

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityKentucky averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
Kentucky average: 3.71
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
Kentucky average: 0.74
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
Kentucky average: 3.27
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityKentucky avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—3.713.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.740.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.273.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.530.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)—46.445.8—
RN turnover (%)—41.842.9—

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: —/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 4/5 · long-stay residents: 4/5 · short-stay residents: —/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Carmel Home. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Non profit - Corporation

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Kim, ThereseIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015
Koenig, MaryIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015
Peterson, VeronicaIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015
Scully, FrancisIndividualW-2 Managing EmployeeNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015
Scully, FrancisIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015
Scully, FrancisIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2015

All 6 owning or managing parties CMS has on file are shown — none excluded.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "Does a pharmacist review every resident's medications and chart monthly, and how are their concerns acted on?"
  • "How do your actual daily staffing levels compare to what's reported on Medicare's Care Compare website?"
  • "What percentage of your residents are on antipsychotic or sedating medications, and how do you work to reduce that?"
  • "What is your falls rate, and what specific steps do you take to prevent falls and supervise residents at risk?"
  • "How many hours a day is a registered nurse physically in the building, including weekends?"
  • "What did your most recent kitchen inspection find, and can I see how food is stored and prepared?"
  • "Where do you post your daily staffing numbers, and can I see today's?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Wellington Parc of Owensboro0.3 miOwensboro, KY★★★★☆4/5
Chautauqua Health and Rehabilitation1.0 miOwensboro, KY★★★☆☆3/5
Signature Healthcare at Hillcrest1.0 miOwensboro, KY★★★☆☆3/5
Hermitage Care and Rehabilitation Center1.9 miOwensboro, KY★★★★★4/5
The Transitional Care Center of Owensboro2.1 miOwensboro, KY★★★★★5/5
Twin Rivers Nursing and Rehabilitation Center2.9 miOwensboro, KY★★★★★4/5
Waters of Rockport Skilled Nursing Facility, the9.5 miRockport, IN★☆☆☆☆1/5
Heartland Villa Nursing and Rehabilitation Center16.5 miLewisport, KY★★★☆☆4/5
Riverside Care & Rehabilitation Center16.6 miCalhoun, KY★★★★★4/5
Woodmont Health Campus19.7 miBoonville, IN★★☆☆☆2/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

All facilities in Owensboro →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 185226.

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details