Nebraska ›Creighton

Avera Creighton Care Centre

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

1603 Main Street, Creighton, NE 68729 (opens Google Maps) · Knox County · (402) 358-5701· 47 certified beds · avg 39 residents/day · certified since Aug 1, 2010 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

Part of chain: AVERA HEALTH (13 facilities, chain avg rating 3.7★)

4/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Dec 3, 2025
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★★☆4/5 · CMS overall rating: 3/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 11 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. F-0880

  2. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not develop or follow a complete care plan for each resident — the written roadmap covering all of a resident's needs, with measurable goals and timelines. F-0656

  3. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not keep the environment free of accident hazards, or did not provide enough supervision to prevent accidents like falls. F-0689

View all 11 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Dec 3, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
Dec 3, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not develop or follow a complete care plan for each resident — the written roadmap covering all of a resident's needs, with measurable goals and timelines. · F-0656
Dec 3, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not keep the environment free of accident hazards, or did not provide enough supervision to prevent accidents like falls. · F-0689
Dec 3, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide care that took into account residents' past trauma or their cultural backgrounds. Care is supposed to be sensitive to what residents have lived through and where they come from. · F-0699
Sep 24, 2024F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
Sep 24, 2024E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not provide pharmacy services that meet each resident's needs, or did not employ or contract with a licensed pharmacist. · F-0755
Sep 5, 2023F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Sep 5, 2023E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not make sure its nurse aides were properly trained — aides working more than 4 months must be trained and competent, and newer aides must be enrolled in training. · from a complaint · F-0728
Sep 5, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility hired someone with an official finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft against them. Facilities are not allowed to employ people with such findings. · F-0606
Sep 5, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft to the proper authorities quickly enough, or did not report the results of its investigation. · from a complaint · F-0609
Sep 5, 2023D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880

Inspection trend by year

Citations from standard inspections increased between the last two inspection cycles (2 → 4).

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2023
All citations: 5
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2024
All citations: 2
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2025
All citations: 4
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202350F
202420F
202540E

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityNebraska averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
Nebraska average: 4.33
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
Nebraska average: 0.72
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
Nebraska average: 3.79
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityNebraska avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—4.333.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.720.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.793.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.470.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)55.148.745.8bottom 35% in Nebraska; bottom 25% in the U.S.
RN turnover (%)50.044.142.9bottom 43% in Nebraska; bottom 39% in the U.S.

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: 1/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: 4/5 · long-stay residents: 4/5 · short-stay residents: —/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Avera Creighton Care Centre. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Non profit - Corporation

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Avera HealthOrganization5% or Greater Direct Ownership Interest100%02/01/2011
Avera HealthOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE02/01/2011
Becker, CarolynIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Ekeren, DouglasIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2014
Ekeren, DouglasIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2014
Greeneway, KathyIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Hiltunen, ScottIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2021
Hunhoff, BernieIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2019
Hurley, JohnIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2020
Kolecka, DebraIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Laflan, DouglasIndividualContracted Managing EmployeeNOT APPLICABLE02/01/2011
Leon, AmyIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2019
Lorang, ThomasIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2019
Mikkelsen, BethIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2019
Schindler, SteveIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2020
Schmeichel, SteveIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2021
Seifert, RoxanneIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2021
Steward, BrianIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2018
Strom, RichardIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE07/01/2017
Sutton, BobbyIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/18/2018

Showing 20 of 21 parties CMS has on file for this facility; 1 are not displayed. The full list is in the CMS Ownership dataset.

Other facilities in the same chain

CMS lists this facility under the chain Avera Health — 13 facilities in the current records. Chain membership says who operates these homes. It says nothing about how any individual one of them was inspected; each has its own record.

Listed by state, then facility name — not a ranking. Showing 8 of the 12 others, continuing from this facility's own place in that list.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "Who leads your infection prevention program, and how do you make sure staff follow practices like hand hygiene every day?"
  • "Can you show me an example care plan, and how are families included when it's created and updated?"
  • "What is your falls rate, and what specific steps do you take to prevent falls and supervise residents at risk?"
  • "How do you learn about each resident's background and history, and how does that shape their care?"
  • "How does your pharmacist review residents' medications, and how quickly can you fill new or urgent prescriptions?"
  • "What did your most recent kitchen inspection find, and can I see how food is stored and prepared?"
  • "What training and competency checks do your nurse aides go through, and how do you keep their skills current?"
  • "How do you screen job applicants for past findings of abuse, neglect, or theft before hiring?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "CMS reports 55% total nursing staff turnover here — who on the care team has been with you longest?"
  • "The ownership record on file lists 21 owning or managing parties — who makes the decisions about staffing levels?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Plainview Manor10.0 miPlainview, NE★☆☆☆☆3/5
Alpine Village Retirement Center10.7 miVerdigre, NE★★★★★4/5
Good Samaritan Society - Bloomfield16.4 miBloomfield, NE★★★☆☆2/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

All facilities in Creighton →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 285284.

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details