California ›Avalon

Catalina Island Health

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

100 Falls Canyon Rd, Avalon, CA 90704 (opens Google Maps) · Los Angeles County · (310) 510-0700· 8 certified beds · avg 4 residents/day · certified since Mar 6, 1985 · Medicare and Medicaid certified

Certified for both programmes. Certification means the facility can bill Medicaid — it does not mean a Medicaid-funded bed is free right now, so ask directly. Who pays for nursing home care →

4/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Jun 11, 2026
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: ★★★★☆4/5 · CMS overall rating: 3/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

Showing the latest 3 of 18 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.

  1. F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread

    The facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. F-0851

  2. E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern

    The facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. F-0812

  3. D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated

    The facility did not provide required paperwork or notices about a resident's needs, their right to appeal a transfer or discharge, or the facility's bed-hold policy (how long a bed is saved during a hospital stay). F-0628

View all 18 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

DateSeverityWhat the facility was cited for
Jun 11, 2026F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. · F-0851
Jun 11, 2026E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Jun 11, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not provide required paperwork or notices about a resident's needs, their right to appeal a transfer or discharge, or the facility's bed-hold policy (how long a bed is saved during a hospital stay). · F-0628
Jun 11, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not observe each nurse aide's job performance or provide regular training as required. · F-0730
Jun 11, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not label drugs according to professional standards or did not store them in locked compartments, with controlled drugs (medications with a high risk of misuse) kept under a separate lock. · F-0761
Jun 11, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not run an ongoing quality assurance committee that reviews care problems and creates plans to fix them. · F-0867
Jun 11, 2026D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not make sure its nurse aides had the skills needed to care for residents, including training in dementia care and abuse prevention. · F-0947
May 8, 2025F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespreadThe facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. · F-0851
May 8, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not make sure its nurses and nurse aides had the skills and training needed to properly care for every resident. · F-0726
May 8, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not keep residents' medications free from unnecessary drugs. Residents should only take medicines they truly need, at the right dose, for a clear reason. · F-0757
May 8, 2025E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
May 8, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not develop or follow a complete care plan for each resident — the written roadmap covering all of a resident's needs, with measurable goals and timelines. · F-0656
May 8, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not observe each nurse aide's job performance or provide regular training as required. · F-0730
May 8, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not run an ongoing quality assurance committee that reviews care problems and creates plans to fix them. · F-0867
May 8, 2025D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not have or follow an effective program to prevent and control infections — such as proper hand washing, cleaning, and isolation practices. This is the most commonly cited deficiency nationwide. · F-0880
May 10, 2024E · Potential for more than minimal harm, patternThe facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not develop or follow a complete care plan for each resident — the written roadmap covering all of a resident's needs, with measurable goals and timelines. · F-0656
May 10, 2024D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolatedThe facility did not try to gradually reduce doses of mood- and mind-altering medications or use non-drug approaches first, as required, or used 'as needed' psychiatric drugs without proper limits. · F-0758

Inspection trend by year

Citations from standard inspections stayed about the same across the last two inspection cycles (8 → 7).

Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2024
All citations: 3
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2025
All citations: 8
Serious citations (G–L): 0
2026
All citations: 7
Serious citations (G–L): 0

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

YearCitationsSerious (G–L)Worst severity that year
202430E
202580F
202670F

Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityCalifornia averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
California average: 4.31
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
California average: 0.61
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
California average: 3.90
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityCalifornia avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—4.313.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.610.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.903.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.510.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)—36.745.8—
RN turnover (%)—38.142.9—

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: 1/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: —/5 · long-stay residents: —/5 · short-stay residents: —/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Catalina Island Health. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Non profit - Corporation

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
Avalon Medical Development CorporationOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE01/16/2025
Avalon Medical Development CorporationOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE01/07/2025
Awalt, CatrinaIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2015
Fox, JohnIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2018
Grear, JudyIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2016
Hohenstein, NicoleIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2022
Kielpinski, TimothyIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2025
Kielpinski, TimothyIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE10/01/2025
Kielpinski, TimothyIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE03/19/2026
Macleod, ReneeIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2022
Motter, DeniseIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2022
Saldana, GertrudeIndividualCorporate DirectorNOT APPLICABLE06/30/2016

All 12 owning or managing parties CMS has on file are shown — none excluded.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

Generated from this facility's actual citation record — bring them to a tour and ask the administrator directly.

  • "How do your actual daily staffing levels compare to what's reported on Medicare's Care Compare website?"
  • "What did your most recent kitchen inspection find, and can I see how food is stored and prepared?"
  • "What written notices do we get before any transfer or discharge, and what is your bed-hold policy?"
  • "How often do you evaluate your nurse aides and what ongoing training do they receive?"
  • "Can you show me how medications are stored and secured on the units, including controlled drugs?"
  • "How does your quality committee work, and can you give an example of a problem it recently identified and fixed?"
  • "What specific training do your nurse aides complete in dementia care and abuse prevention, and how often is it refreshed?"
  • "How do you verify that your nurses and aides have the skills to care for residents with needs like my family member's?"

Also worth asking anywhere

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "Can I see the plan of correction for the findings in your most recent state inspection?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Seacrest Post-Acute Care Center27.6 miSan Pedro, CA★☆☆☆☆1/5abuse
White Point Care Center27.6 miSan Pedro, CA★☆☆☆☆2/5
Providence Little Comp of Mary Subacute Care Ctr27.6 miSan Pedro, CA★★★★☆4/5
Crystal Cove Care Center30.4 miNewport Beach, CA★★★★☆3/5
Pelican Ridge Post Acute30.5 miNewport Beach, CA★★★☆☆2/5abuse
Newport Nursing and Rehabilitation Center30.6 miNewport Beach, CA★★★☆☆2/5abuse
Palos Verdes Health Care Center30.7 miLomita, CA★★☆☆☆2/5
Beachside Nursing Center31.0 miHuntington Beach, CA★★★★☆3/5
Sea Cliff Healthcare Center31.0 miHuntington Beach, CA★★☆☆☆2/5
Broadway by the Sea31.1 miLong Beach, CA★☆☆☆☆1/5
Mesa Verde Post Acute Care Center31.1 miCosta Mesa, CA★★★★☆3/5
Colonial Care Center31.3 miLong Beach, CA★☆☆☆☆1/5

Compare this facility with the 3 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in Los Angeles, CA — 369 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in Avalon →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 555187.

This page is the printable visit checklist. If your browser did not open the print dialog automatically, use File → Print (Ctrl/⌘-P).

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details