35629 Highway 72, Salem, MO 65560 (opens Google Maps) · Dent County · (573) 729-6626· 18 certified beds · avg 15 residents/day · certified since Jun 25, 1992 · Medicaid only — not Medicare certified
Certified for Medicaid only. It cannot bill Medicare, so a short post-hospital rehabilitation stay would not be covered the usual way here. Who pays for nursing home care →
4/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Oct 16, 2025
0
Serious findings on record
$92,988
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)
Every record stays on this page.
What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)
The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.
Inspection findings in the public record
Showing the latest 3 of 12 inspection findings. Open the full record below to read every finding.
F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. F-0756
F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not employ enough qualified food and nutrition staff, including a qualified dietician, to properly run its food service. F-0801
D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
The facility provided care that did not meet professional standards of quality — the accepted standards that nurses and other clinicians are expected to follow. F-0658
View all 12 inspection findingsShow only the latest 3 findings
CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.
Date
Severity
What the facility was cited for
Oct 16, 2025
F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not have a licensed pharmacist review each resident's complete medication regimen and medical chart every month, or did not follow its own rules for reporting medication problems. · F-0756
Oct 16, 2025
F · Potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not employ enough qualified food and nutrition staff, including a qualified dietician, to properly run its food service. · F-0801
Oct 16, 2025
D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
The facility provided care that did not meet professional standards of quality — the accepted standards that nurses and other clinicians are expected to follow. · F-0658
Sep 27, 2024
E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
The facility provided care that did not meet professional standards of quality — the accepted standards that nurses and other clinicians are expected to follow. · F-0658
Sep 27, 2024
E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
The facility used bed rails without first trying safer alternatives, or without assessing the resident's safety risk, discussing the risks and benefits with the resident or family, getting consent, and installing the rails correctly. · F-0700
Sep 27, 2024
E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
The facility's medication error rate was 5 percent or higher — meaning too many doses were given incorrectly, such as the wrong drug, dose, or time. · F-0759
Sep 27, 2024
E · Potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
The facility did not get its food from approved, safe sources, or did not store, prepare, and serve food according to professional food safety standards. · F-0812
Sep 27, 2024
D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
The facility did not run an ongoing quality assurance committee that reviews care problems and creates plans to fix them. · F-0867
Aug 22, 2023
D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
The facility did not honor residents' right to voice complaints without discrimination or retaliation, or did not have a working complaint process that resolves issues promptly. · F-0585
Aug 22, 2023
D · Potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
The facility did not provide the help residents need with basic daily activities — like bathing, dressing, eating, and using the bathroom — for residents who cannot do these things on their own. · F-0677
Aug 22, 2023
C · Potential for minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not electronically submit complete and accurate staffing information to the government, based on payroll and other verifiable records. · F-0851
Aug 22, 2023
C · Potential for minimal harm, widespread
The facility did not have a working program to monitor how antibiotics are used. Tracking antibiotic use helps make sure these drugs are given only when needed and remain effective. · F-0881
Inspection trend by year
Citations from standard inspections decreased between the last two inspection cycles (5 → 3).
Citations by recorded inspection yearPublished citation counts, not a quality score · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
All citationsSerious citations (G–L)
2023
All citations:
4
Serious citations (G–L):
0
2024
All citations:
5
Serious citations (G–L):
0
2025
All citations:
3
Serious citations (G–L):
0
All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.
Year
Citations
Serious (G–L)
Worst severity that year
2023
4
0
D
2024
5
0
E
2025
3
0
F
Counts reflect the current CMS public record (~3 inspection cycles plus complaint investigations); years with no surveys show no row. Inspection frequency varies, so compare severity as well as counts.
Every penalty CMS publishes for this facility in the 3-year window is listed —none excluded. The count and the dollar total come from two different CMS datasets and agree for this facility. Penalties older than the window are dropped by CMS before publication, not by us.
Date
Type
Amount / length
Feb 20, 2024
Fine
$4,893
Feb 12, 2024
Fine
$4,893
Jan 22, 2024
Fine
$14,679
Jan 8, 2024
Fine
$4,893
Jan 2, 2024
Fine
$4,545
Dec 11, 2023
Fine
$13,635
Nov 20, 2023
Fine
$4,545
Nov 13, 2023
Fine
$4,545
Oct 23, 2023
Fine
$13,635
Sep 25, 2023
Fine
$13,635
Sep 5, 2023
Fine
$4,545
Aug 28, 2023
Fine
$4,545
Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)
Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityMissouri averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility:
Not reported
Missouri average:
3.66
U.S. average:
3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility:
Not reported
Missouri average:
0.49
U.S. average:
0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility:
Not reported
Missouri average:
3.22
U.S. average:
3.50
All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.
Measure
This facility
Missouri avg
U.S. avg
Where it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
—
3.66
3.95
—
Registered Nurse hours
—
0.49
0.69
—
Weekend total nurse staffing
—
3.22
3.50
—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)
—
0.33
0.48
—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)
—
56.0
45.8
—
RN turnover (%)
—
47.8
42.9
—
Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: 1/5.
Quality measures: assessments & claims
Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.
No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Salem Memorial District Hospital. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.
Calculate a stay from a quote you receive
Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.
Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.
Before you compare prices
Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.