Colorado ›La Junta

Bluestem Village

Costs & paymentPlan a visit

1 Darlene Dr, La Junta, CO 81050 (opens Google Maps) · Otero County · (303) 363-1700· 56 certified beds · avg 31 residents/day · certified since Sep 13, 2024 · Medicare only — not Medicaid certified

Certified for Medicare only. Medicare pays for short rehabilitation stays, not for long-term care — and this facility cannot bill Medicaid, which is what most families rely on for a long stay. Ask what a long-term stay here would cost and how it would be paid for. Who pays for nursing home care →

—/5
Health inspection rating (on-site)
inspected Sep 5, 2024
0
Serious findings on record
$0
Fines, last 3 years
—
Nurse hours/resident/day (adjusted)

What health inspectors found (on-site government inspections — the most independent evidence available)

New to these records? How to read an inspection report →

Health inspection rating: —/5 · CMS overall rating: —/5 · how star ratings work →

The health inspection star above is graded on a curve within each state — a set share of each state's facilities gets each star level — so a facility can have few citations and still rate 2–3 stars if others in its state did even better. The overall rating combines that inspection score with staffing and quality measures from resident assessments and claims.

Inspection findings in the public record

0 inspection findings in the public record

CMS publishes roughly the last three inspection cycles plus recent complaint investigations. Older surveys drop out of the record as new ones are completed — that window is CMS's, not ours. Within it, every citation CMS publishes for this facility is listed here: none excluded.

No health citations in the currently published records.

Inspection trend by year

No citations in the published record to chart.

Fines and enforcement (last 3 years)

How to file a complaint about care →

No fines or payment denials in the published 3-year window.

Nurse staffing (from payroll records, adjusted for how much care residents need)

What these staffing numbers mean →

Nurse time, in contextAdjusted hours per resident per day · Source: CMS, 2026-08-01
This facilityColorado averageU.S. average
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)
This facility: Not reported
Colorado average: 3.89
U.S. average: 3.95
Registered Nurse hours
This facility: Not reported
Colorado average: 0.86
U.S. average: 0.69
Weekend total nurse staffing
This facility: Not reported
Colorado average: 3.44
U.S. average: 3.50

All bars start at zero. Exact values and supporting details remain below.

MeasureThis facilityColorado avgU.S. avgWhere it stands
Total nurse staffing (hours per resident per day)—3.893.95—
Registered Nurse hours—0.860.69—
Weekend total nurse staffing—3.443.50—
Weekend RN hours (not acuity-adjusted)—0.610.48—
Total nursing staff turnover (%)—47.145.8—
RN turnover (%)—44.642.9—

Hours are per resident per day for the most recent quarter of payroll data in this CMS release (2026-08-01) — the same quarter for every facility — case-mix adjusted by CMS so facilities caring for sicker residents can be compared fairly (same basis as the CMS staffing star). "Top X%" means better than most facilities: more staffing hours, or lower turnover. Raw (unadjusted) reported hours: total —, RN —, weekend —.Comparing with Medicare Care Compare? Care Compare shows the raw figure (— here, displayed there as hours and minutes), not the adjusted one above. Both are correct; they answer different questions. Staffing rating: —/5.

Quality measures: assessments & claims

Note: CMS combines facility-reported resident assessments (MDS) with claims-based measures. These are different sources from on-site inspection findings. Read the measures alongside inspection and staffing records; a high QM rating does not establish that a home is safe.

Quality measures rating: —/5 · long-stay residents: —/5 · short-stay residents: —/5

Costs & payment

Price evidence · separate from quality

No verified facility-specific private-pay price is available in our data for Bluestem Village. CMS inspection and staffing records do not tell us what this home will charge you.

Calculate a stay from a quote you receive

Use a written private-pay quote. This worksheet adds only the amounts you enter; it does not calculate Medicare, Medicaid or insurance benefits.

Formula: (room rate + daily extras) × days + one-time charges. A 30-day scenario is not a calendar-month quote. Refundable deposits, rate changes and charges you omit are not automatically included. Entries are not saved or sent to our server.

Before you compare prices

  • Request the room type, effective date and itemized daily rate in writing.
  • Ask about therapy, medicines, supplies, care-level charges, deposits, refunds and annual increases.
  • Confirm insurance or Medicaid eligibility and bed availability directly; certification alone does not guarantee either.

Understand who pays for care · How we handle price evidence · Report an incorrect price

Who owns this facility

How to read ownership records →

Ownership records as published by CMS on 2026-08-01. CMS records when an owner joined but not when they left. Listed here and no longer involved? Tell us →

Government - State

Owner / managerTypeRoleStakeSince
La Junta Health Service DistrictOrganization5% or Greater Direct Ownership Interest100%12/11/2017
Brammeier, JohnIndividualManaging Control - Governing BodyNOT APPLICABLE03/01/2012
Brammeier, JohnIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE01/10/2025
Brammeier, JohnIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE01/16/2025
Deleon, JohnnieIndividualManaging Control - Governing BodyNOT APPLICABLE11/07/2017
Deleon, JohnnieIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE12/31/2024
Dergance, JeannaeIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE12/31/2024
Fowler, DianeIndividual5% or Greater Security InterestNOT APPLICABLE11/07/2017
Fowler, DianeIndividualManaging Control - Governing BodyNOT APPLICABLE11/07/2017
Haskell, CynthiaIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE12/31/2024
Haskell, CynthiaIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE12/31/2024
Koretke, MaryIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE12/31/2024
La Junta Health Service DistrictOrganization5% or Greater Mortgage InterestNOT APPLICABLE12/11/2017
La Junta Health Service DistrictOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE12/16/2024
La Junta Health Service DistrictOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE12/16/2024
Moskowitz, JayIndividualCorporate OfficerNOT APPLICABLE04/15/2018
Moskowitz, JayIndividualOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE06/15/2021
Moskowitz, JayIndividualADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE06/15/2021
QP Health Care Services LLCOrganizationOperational/Managerial ControlNOT APPLICABLE12/16/2024
QP Health Care Services LLCOrganizationADP of the SNFNOT APPLICABLE01/10/2025

Showing 20 of 24 parties CMS has on file for this facility; 4 are not displayed. The full list is in the CMS Ownership dataset.

Questions to ask on your visit

Full visit checklist →

Print visit checklist

The published CMS deficiency file lists no citations for this facility, so there is nothing here that is specific to it. The questions below are general ones, worth asking on any tour.

  • "What is your current ratio of nursing staff to residents on day, evening, and weekend shifts?"
  • "The ownership record on file lists 24 owning or managing parties — who makes the decisions about staffing levels?"
  • "Can I visit again unannounced, at a mealtime or on a weekend?"

Nearby facilities (within 20 miles)

FacilityDistanceCityOverallInspectionFlags
Pioneer Health Care Center15.9 miRocky Ford, CO★★★★☆3/5

Compare this facility with the 1 closest →

Other facilities in the same county

CMS records place this facility in Otero, CO — 3 certified facilities there. These are outside the 20-mile list above, or far enough down it not to appear.

Listed by facility name — not a ranking. Homes already in the table above are not repeated here.

All facilities in La Junta →

Facility data as of CMS processing date 2026-08-01. CCN 065436.

This page is the printable visit checklist. If your browser did not open the print dialog automatically, use File → Print (Ctrl/⌘-P).

Your research

Viewed & saved homes

Kept in this browser tab for this session. Choose to remember them only on a device you trust. Opening a record or comparison sends its usual page request.

Selected for comparison

Recently viewed

Prices entered in a cost worksheet stay on that page and are not saved. Privacy details